.titleBar { margin-bottom: 5px!important; }

Fritz Fon Ata - Firmware to convert German to English

Dieses Thema im Forum "FRITZ!Box Fon: Modifikationen" wurde erstellt von mackeyuk, 29 Jan. 2006.

  1. mackeyuk

    mackeyuk Neuer User

    Registriert seit:
    29 Jan. 2006
    Beiträge:
    11
    Zustimmungen:
    0
    Punkte für Erfolge:
    0
    I have bought a Fritz Fon ATA from a German supplier and want to
    convert the language of the software to English. I have downloaded the
    English firmware from the website but it refuses to load. I think it might have something to be with the freenet branding?


    I get the error "Die angegebene Datei enthält keine für Ihr Gerät
    gültige Firmware."


    The firmware I have tried is fritz.box_fon_ata.en.11.03.98.image


    Can anyone help me out?
     
  2. das_schaf

    das_schaf Neuer User

    Registriert seit:
    17 Jan. 2005
    Beiträge:
    41
    Zustimmungen:
    0
    Punkte für Erfolge:
    6
  3. mackeyuk

    mackeyuk Neuer User

    Registriert seit:
    29 Jan. 2006
    Beiträge:
    11
    Zustimmungen:
    0
    Punkte für Erfolge:
    0
    Thanks for the tip, altough even with the google translate tool it is not clear to me how to unbrand the ATA.

    Can someone provide instructions in English please?

    Thanks!
     
  4. das_schaf

    das_schaf Neuer User

    Registriert seit:
    17 Jan. 2005
    Beiträge:
    41
    Zustimmungen:
    0
    Punkte für Erfolge:
    6
    Just download the above mentioned file and install it like a new firmware. There might be a warning but you ignore that. After installing reboot the box.
     
  5. mackeyuk

    mackeyuk Neuer User

    Registriert seit:
    29 Jan. 2006
    Beiträge:
    11
    Zustimmungen:
    0
    Punkte für Erfolge:
    0
    Thanks again for the help.
    I have now unbranded the ATA but the international firmware will not load, I receive the translated error.

    "The indicated file does not contain firmware valid for your equipment."

    The firmware I downloaded is 'fritz.box_fon_ata.en.11.03.98.image'
     
  6. hklomann

    hklomann Mitglied

    Registriert seit:
    1 Aug. 2005
    Beiträge:
    310
    Zustimmungen:
    0
    Punkte für Erfolge:
    0
    Ort:
    Krefeld
    what firmware release is active on the box?
     
  7. mackeyuk

    mackeyuk Neuer User

    Registriert seit:
    29 Jan. 2006
    Beiträge:
    11
    Zustimmungen:
    0
    Punkte für Erfolge:
    0
    Hi Hklomann,

    The current firmware is version 11.03.90
     
  8. das_schaf

    das_schaf Neuer User

    Registriert seit:
    17 Jan. 2005
    Beiträge:
    41
    Zustimmungen:
    0
    Punkte für Erfolge:
    6
    You also have to change some settings to make the box accept international firmware. AVM removed the englisch web pages from the non-international firmware so you have to try it via the recover.exe.

    part 1: install a telnet image

    1. download starttelnet.image from http://www.wehavemorefun.de/fritzbox/Starten_von_telnetd and install it like a new firmware.
    2. reboot the box

    part 2: install the international firmware

    1. establish a telnet connection to your box via putty or telnet.exe (ip should be 192.168.178.254)
    2. type in the following
    Code:
    echo firmware_version avme > /proc/avalanche/env
    3. connect your pc to the box via ethernet and change the ip settings of your pc to 192.168.178.XXX / 255.255.255.0
    4. copy recover.exe from the fritz cd :)\software\x_misc\) and the international firmware into the same directory
    5. open a dos box
    6. type in but do not execute the following command
    Code:
    recover -f fritz.box_fon_ata.en.11.03.98.image
    7. reboot the box by unplugging the power cable
    8. after 2 sec. execute the command
    9. if this fails repeat 8. immediately
    10. wait for the update being finished (could take up to 3 min.)
    11. reboot the box by unplugging the power cable

    now you should be able to access the english web pages
     
  9. mackeyuk

    mackeyuk Neuer User

    Registriert seit:
    29 Jan. 2006
    Beiträge:
    11
    Zustimmungen:
    0
    Punkte für Erfolge:
    0
    Hi das_schaf,

    Thanks for your assistance so far.
    I followed your instructions without any problems until I try the recover.exe step.

    When I try the recover.exe command I recieve the error
    recover: error = 9

    I have tried this command using both the LAN and WAN ports on the ata and with the windows firewall disabled.

    Do you have any further suggestions?
     
  10. das_schaf

    das_schaf Neuer User

    Registriert seit:
    17 Jan. 2005
    Beiträge:
    41
    Zustimmungen:
    0
    Punkte für Erfolge:
    6
  11. mackeyuk

    mackeyuk Neuer User

    Registriert seit:
    29 Jan. 2006
    Beiträge:
    11
    Zustimmungen:
    0
    Punkte für Erfolge:
    0
    I can not access the webpages, the ata is not working at a dhcp server.
    With a static IP set on my pc I can not ping the ata on 192.168.178.254 or 192.168.178.1
    I tried lots of time the recover.exe command without success.

    Help Please!
     
  12. mackeyuk

    mackeyuk Neuer User

    Registriert seit:
    29 Jan. 2006
    Beiträge:
    11
    Zustimmungen:
    0
    Punkte für Erfolge:
    0
    Ok I managed to load the german firmware on using recover.exe

    But I still can not access the webpages and it still does not issue IP address using dchp.

    I am worried I have screwed up the unit :(
     
  13. Evil Dead

    Evil Dead Guest

    Hi mackeyuk,

    if you can access your box using telnet, type
    Code:
    echo "firmware_version avm" > /proc/avalanche/env
    
    Then reboot the box by typing
    Code:
    /sbin/reboot
    
    If this dosn't work you can wait for the new German firmware and flash it to the box using recover.exe. It should be released within the next few days! With the new firmware installed, you can activate telnet by calling #96*7*! Then you can follow the steps above!

    Good luck!

    Greetings,
    Andreas
     
  14. mackeyuk

    mackeyuk Neuer User

    Registriert seit:
    29 Jan. 2006
    Beiträge:
    11
    Zustimmungen:
    0
    Punkte für Erfolge:
    0
    Hi Dead Evil,

    Thanks for the tip, but no joy with telnet.
    I guess all I can hope for is the new firmware version to fix my problem.
     
  15. MrVenus

    MrVenus Mitglied

    Registriert seit:
    19 Sep. 2004
    Beiträge:
    623
    Zustimmungen:
    0
    Punkte für Erfolge:
    16
    #15 MrVenus, 31 Jan. 2006
    Zuletzt bearbeitet: 1 Feb. 2006
    könnte mal jemand übersetzen ....habs so geschafft... die fritz.box_fon_ata.en.11.03.98.image zu installieren...


    1. Telnet-ar7login-reset-debug.tar aufspielen
    2. mit telnet einloggen und auf avme umsetzen ( echo firmware_version avme > /proc/avalanche/env )
    3. mit recover die FritzBox_Fon_ata avme de 11.03.64 aufspielen (Austria Schweiz Edition) ....das geht nur am WAN-Port!
    4. box neu booten und ganz normal übers webinterface die neue fritz.box_fon_ata.en.11.03.98.image aufspielen und schon gehts....


    siehe bildchen...:
     

    Anhänge:

  16. voipd

    voipd IPPF-Promi

    Registriert seit:
    5 Mai 2005
    Beiträge:
    3,184
    Zustimmungen:
    1
    Punkte für Erfolge:
    38
    Ja, ich habe nun auch die .98 auf der FBF_ATA.
    Funktioniert wie in der Anleitung.

    2 Hinweise noch:

    1. Ich konnte das Image mit recover.exe nur einspielen, nachdem ich an den aeusseren Ethernetanschluss gegangen bin.

    2. Beim testen hatte ich vorher den Switch rausgenommen und die FBF_ATA direkt an den PC gehangen.

    Code:
    C:\fbf_fw>recover -f 64.image
    recover: Firmware von 64.image geladen
    recover: Suche FRITZ!Box ...
    recover: FRITZ!Box 192.168.178.1 (192.168.178.1:5035)
    recover: Uebertrage kernel.image (711168)
    recover: kernel.image uebertragen
    recover: Uebertrage filesystem.image (2240512)
    recover: filesystem.image uebertragen
    voipd.
     
  17. der_Gersthofer

    der_Gersthofer Admin-Team

    Registriert seit:
    17 Apr. 2004
    Beiträge:
    3,585
    Zustimmungen:
    0
    Punkte für Erfolge:
    36
    connect PC to the outer LAN port of the FBF

    1. flash Telnet-ar7login-reset-debug.tar
    2. log in via telnet and type: echo "firmware_version avm" > /proc/avalanche/env
    3. open a DOS box and type: revocer -f 64.bin (wereas 64.bin is the renamed "FritzBox_Fon_ata avme de 11.03.64" (Austria Switzerland Edition) but do not hit ENTER; this will only work if PC is connected to WAN port
    4. reboot fbf and hit ENTER about 2 seconds after restart
    5. flash fritz.box_fon_ata.en.11.03.98.image via the webinterface
     
  18. mackeyuk

    mackeyuk Neuer User

    Registriert seit:
    29 Jan. 2006
    Beiträge:
    11
    Zustimmungen:
    0
    Punkte für Erfolge:
    0
    Thanks for the tips guys. I think I understand..

    1. Use recover.exe to load Telnet-ar7login-reset-debug.tar
    2. Login via telnet and run the echo command as detailed
    3. Use recover to install FritzBox_Fon_ata avme de 11.03.64
    4. Use webpage to load fritz.box_fon_ata.en.11.03.98.image

    The step i am unsure of is

    1. flash Telnet-ar7login-reset-debug.tar

    Does 'flash' mean recover.exe or is this a sparate program?
     
  19. Odysseus

    Odysseus Aktives Mitglied

    Registriert seit:
    7 Sep. 2004
    Beiträge:
    1,421
    Zustimmungen:
    0
    Punkte für Erfolge:
    0
    This means flashing like a normal Firmwareupdate. But it seems that you can't get any connection to you Fritzbox, right?
    If this is right, you should try get your Box alive... (with the german firmware). After that you can try these 4 steps to change the language.

    BUT YOU MUSTN'T USE RECOVER.EXE TO FLASH THE Telnet-ar7login-reset-debug.tar FILE!!! NEVER DO THAT!
     
  20. mackeyuk

    mackeyuk Neuer User

    Registriert seit:
    29 Jan. 2006
    Beiträge:
    11
    Zustimmungen:
    0
    Punkte für Erfolge:
    0
    I can not access the webpages.

    So I have managed to recover to the latest german firmware, below is the result. But now the box LEDs are all flashing at the same time. What does this mean?

    Code:
    C:\ft>recover -f 64.image
    recover: Firmware von 64.image geladen
    recover: Suche FRITZ!Box ...
    recover: FRITZ!Box 192.168.178.1 (192.168.178.1:5035)
    recover: Uebertrage kernel.image (711168)
    recover: kernel.image uebertragen
    recover: Uebertrage filesystem.image (2240512)
    recover: filesystem.image uebertragen