.titleBar { margin-bottom: 5px!important; }

7270_v3 bootloader

Dieses Thema im Forum "FRITZ!Box Fon: Modifikationen" wurde erstellt von MarkoDimarko, 29 Dez. 2011.

  1. MarkoDimarko

    MarkoDimarko Neuer User

    Registriert seit:
    8 Apr. 2011
    Beiträge:
    5
    Zustimmungen:
    0
    Punkte für Erfolge:
    0
    Hello.
    Sorry for not speaking German, but I really don't know any :)
    I had a 7140 and starting searching things to do with that and eventually ended up in this forum. Since then, and with the help of google translate, I was able to do miracles with my little box! A huge thank you to everybody in the forums, I really hope there was an english session so it would be easier for us non German speaking people, I think there are a lot of us out there.
    Anyway, to my problem. I bought a German 7240 and been having some issues with freetz and it's " 7240-7270 allien" mode. Since the 7240 is almost identical to the 7270_v3, I would really like to load it's bootloader and be able to upload directly 7270 images. I have the knowledge and a jtag cable to perform that.
    So my question, is there some kind of collection of bootloaders out there we can use? Or maybe we should create one? Bottom line, could anyone provide me with a 7270_v3 german bootloader? I would be very thankfull to anyone who could do that.
    I really think there should be a place that we could put bootloaders for anyone to share. The only thing preventing that could be legal issues, which I really haven't investigated, please share your thoughts with me.
    Thank you in advance.
     
  2. KunterBunter

    KunterBunter IPPF-Urgestein

    Registriert seit:
    12 Okt. 2005
    Beiträge:
    22,000
    Zustimmungen:
    31
    Punkte für Erfolge:
    48
    Unfortunately, this forum ist not appropriate for sharing bootloaders or any other copyrighted software, for that matter. :(
     
  3. MarkoDimarko

    MarkoDimarko Neuer User

    Registriert seit:
    8 Apr. 2011
    Beiträge:
    5
    Zustimmungen:
    0
    Punkte für Erfolge:
    0
    OK, I understand. Thank you anyway and keep up the good work!
     
  4. Feuer-Fritz

    Feuer-Fritz Guest

    Only for my understanding, how can I get down a bootloader from a running box?
     
  5. KunterBunter

    KunterBunter IPPF-Urgestein

    Registriert seit:
    12 Okt. 2005
    Beiträge:
    22,000
    Zustimmungen:
    31
    Punkte für Erfolge:
    48
  6. Feuer-Fritz

    Feuer-Fritz Guest

    Dank dir ;-)

    PS: Wer lesen kann, ist klar im Vorteil ;-)
     
  7. RalfFriedl

    RalfFriedl IPPF-Urgestein

    Registriert seit:
    22 Apr. 2007
    Beiträge:
    12,343
    Zustimmungen:
    0
    Punkte für Erfolge:
    0
    The other problem is, most likely the other bootloader would not work on your box.

    But it wouldn't matter if you have a copy of your original bootloader an JTAG equipment.
     
  8. MarkoDimarko

    MarkoDimarko Neuer User

    Registriert seit:
    8 Apr. 2011
    Beiträge:
    5
    Zustimmungen:
    0
    Punkte für Erfolge:
    0
    Because 7240 and 7270_v3 being so hardware identical (7240 just missing the 7270_v3 landline telephony parts), I would like to try and load the 7270_v3 bootloader and see what happens. Just call it curiocity, isn't that what this forum is all about? Also, I have a working JTAG cable tested in my old 7140, so failing wouldn't be a problem. I really think that it would work.
    Anyway, I respect legal issues with the bootloader and can't do anything about it. I'm keeping the hope, though :)
     
  9. RalfFriedl

    RalfFriedl IPPF-Urgestein

    Registriert seit:
    22 Apr. 2007
    Beiträge:
    12,343
    Zustimmungen:
    0
    Punkte für Erfolge:
    0
    If they are so identical, why do you think the bootloaders are that different?

    Make a backup, look here for the environment of a 7270, change your environment and give it a try.
     
  10. MarkoDimarko

    MarkoDimarko Neuer User

    Registriert seit:
    8 Apr. 2011
    Beiträge:
    5
    Zustimmungen:
    0
    Punkte für Erfolge:
    0
    I have already done that. I've changed the HWRevision and the ProductID to the correct 7270_v3 ones. Please notice that the ProductID of 7240 is "Fritz_Box_7240" and for the 7270_v3 is "Fritz_Box_7270plus", which is 4 characters longer, you cannot simply replace it in the bootloader dump. This means more work, you have to correct the addresses that the bootloader expects to find these values. I've done that too, but it didn't work. Unfortunately, the are other differences in the bootloaders, I suppose the parts that informs the router about the hardware that is present (e.g. landline) which is pure hex code, and my knowledge ends there :)
     
  11. maceis

    maceis Mitglied

    Registriert seit:
    9 Apr. 2006
    Beiträge:
    623
    Zustimmungen:
    1
    Punkte für Erfolge:
    18
    #11 maceis, 1 Jan. 2012
    Zuletzt bearbeitet: 1 Jan. 2012
    Auf meiner ganz neuen 7270_v3 Box konnte ich die von kriegaex beschriebene "Verschiebung" nicht beobachten.
    Bei mir also: cat /dev/mtdblock2 > /var/tmp/mtd2
    Die Datei ist (anders als bei den früheren Boxen / Versionen) nicht 64 kB sondern 128 kB groß:
    Code:
    mybox:[/var/tmp]# cat /dev/mtdblock2 > /var/tmp/mtd2
    mybox:[/var/tmp]# du -k mtd2 
    128	mtd2
    mybox:[/var/tmp]#
    Siehe auch: Flash-Partitionen im laufenden Betrieb sichern (auf freetz.org)
     
  12. MarkoDimarko

    MarkoDimarko Neuer User

    Registriert seit:
    8 Apr. 2011
    Beiträge:
    5
    Zustimmungen:
    0
    Punkte für Erfolge:
    0
    The article is referring to 7170 bootloader, which is 64 KB in size. The 7270 bootloader is 128 KB, everything is correct. Keep the file as backup.
    Happy new year!
     
  13. maceis

    maceis Mitglied

    Registriert seit:
    9 Apr. 2006
    Beiträge:
    623
    Zustimmungen:
    1
    Punkte für Erfolge:
    18
    #13 maceis, 1 Jan. 2012
    Zuletzt bearbeitet: 1 Jan. 2012
    This is only partly true.

    The article is referring to the 7170 in the upper part and the 7270 in the lower part but not to the 7270_v3 but the 7270_v1.
    The bootloader of the 7270_v1 still is 64 kB.

    Also in the lower part of the article you can see, that on 7170 boxes with kernel 2.6 the bootloader is on mtdblock3 and on partition mtd3.

    Therefore posting #5 by KunterBunter is only correct for some boxes.

    Generally it should be a good idea to compare the output of
    cat /proc/partitions
    and
    cat /proc/mtd
    where sometime the boot loader is identified as "urlader".

    Example (7270_v3, kernel 2.6):
    Code:
    mybox:[/var/tmp]# cat /proc/partitions 
    major minor  #blocks  name
    
      31        0      14320 mtdblock0
      31        1       1423 mtdblock1
      31        2        128 mtdblock2
      31        3        256 mtdblock3
      31        4        256 mtdblock4
      31        5        768 mtdblock5
       7        0       4096 loop0
     254        0       8192 ramzswap0
    
    mybox:[/var/tmp]# cat /proc/mtd 
    dev:    size   erasesize  name
    mtd0: 00dfc100 00020000 "rootfs"
    mtd1: 00163f00 00020000 "kernel"
    mtd2: 00020000 00020000 "urlader"
    mtd3: 00040000 00020000 "tffs (1)"
    mtd4: 00040000 00020000 "tffs (2)"
    mtd5: 000c0000 00020000 "jffs2"
    
    By comparing the size of mtd2 (00020000 hex = 131072 decimal; 131072 (bytes) /1024 = 128 kB) you can easily see, which block device to cat.

    HTH
    Gruß
    maceis
     
  14. KunterBunter

    KunterBunter IPPF-Urgestein

    Registriert seit:
    12 Okt. 2005
    Beiträge:
    22,000
    Zustimmungen:
    31
    Punkte für Erfolge:
    48
    Of course. :) This was only an example to the question above on how to get a bootloader from a running box.